Specialization Project: Character Design

After completing my research blog on character design I dove into actually creating my own character. At the beginning I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to model, only that I wanted to do a little girl that was a little bit dark and creepy. To get started I gathered a lot of reference for inspiration and created a pinterest board.

pinterest

From here I began sketching some initial concepts, I still wasn’t entirely sure what I wanted but I knew I would be using more rounded shapes and a short frame to give a cute appearance. I really wanted to make sure my character had an interesting silhouette so I experimented a lot with hairstyles. I wanted some angles and lines to contrast with the many circular shapes in the character. Just like I wanted to contrast the cute with the creepy personality.

Early concepts

The last girl was the design I settled on. I believed she had the most personality and a bit of a story behind her as a hyperactive odd-kid who was weirdly obsessed with monsters. She is forever exploring creepy places and checks every night under her bed in hopes she’ll find something terrifying there. Below is her character sheet.

Character_ref1Character_ref

Now that I’ve finally finished my character concept I am super keen to get into modelling!

Leave a comment